Laertes takes the (noospheric) field

Hello to all my (now few) readers out there in the noosphere. This is my first blog about a passion I have been cultivating for 20 years now: the “grim darkness” of Warhammer 40,000. Here I will not post just my painting and modelling projects, but also missions and homerules I developed in my years of gaming, and ideas for organizing campaigns.

I finally decided to undertake this endeavor driven by the amazing models produced by Forge World for the Horus Heresy era Mechanicum. When they first come out I was extremely excited, for I had waited for something like that since when I first read the Codex Imperialis that came in the starter box of Warhammer 40,000 second edition, twenty years ago. So excited, in fact, that I felt I shouldn’t limit myself to painting and modelling, but should explore new dimensions of the hobby and share them, hoping to inspire someone else and receive in exchange some precious feedback. Overcome by laziness, I procrastinated until now, when the recent rumors about the possibility of an imminent release of a Skitarii Codex relighted the fire of my determination.

Now, let me introduce myself: I am Laertes, Magister Militum of the Burning Ashes Chapter of the Adeptus Astartes, sometimes simply known as Grand Master Laertes.

Arcesio Laertes, Magister Militum

This is the miniature I converted some time ago (2008 I think?) to represent my alter ego on the tabletop. He is the head of Chapter divided by an internal strife between two ancient traditions: the days of a bold past, which were full of glory and honour but almost drove the Chapter to extinction; and the most recent days of the late biosas, when the power is divided among the five Magisters and the Chapter lives hidden from the eyes of both enemies and allies. But this, as they say, is a story for another time…

3 thoughts on “Laertes takes the (noospheric) field

Leave a Reply

