A glimpse of future Mechanicum projects

Before showcasing more of the models I collected, assembled and painted in the last twenty years, I think it is better to show something of the projects I am working on. The first one is a fortress I am building for the Tyran Primus Campaign I am planning to run in the future.

I have always been passionate about military fortifications and siege wars. When the Siege expansion for the fifth edition of Warhammer Fantasy Battles came out with its (then) mighty plastic fortress, I always wondered why we couldn’t have something like that for Warhammer 40,000 games. In time, we had some plastic fortifications and buildings, but it is just recently, with the Stronghold Assault book that futuristic siege wars really started to be explored.

The endeavour is huge, and not on the top of my hobby-priorities list (I’d rather have a full army to play some games than a couple of models and a building), so it won’t be completed soon, but the basic outline is yet there.

The fortress' top floors

Here you can see the top floor of the fortress, built with components from three Manufactorum and a Sanctum Imperialis kit. It is not very big in itself, but it will sit on a structure built with two Imperial Bastions, like this:

Fortress dry-fit

As you can see, there is still a lot of work to do, as the Imperial Bastion surfaces are nowhere as detailed as those from the Cities of Death buildings. I will enrich them as much as I can, but this is still in the planning stage.

This Castellax Battle-Automata, instead, is already primed and ready to be painted:

Castellax

I plan to take pictures of each painting step and then post a sort of tutorial here on this blog to show how you can get good yellow surfaces even working on a black undercoat.

There should be two of them, but I lost one of its components the other one before assembling it (it was not in the bag it came in, I think), so I have to wait for a replacement, before start working on it.

Last, but not least, on my desk is sitting this plastic Cairn Wraith, which I will use to convert my fourth Tech-Priest.

Would-be Techpriest

The Idea is not original in itself, as on the web there are many wonderful Tech-Priests based on this model, like the unequalled Legion built by KrautScientist, or this model from greeble, or this Weapon Servitor from Jonathan Hart, but the component fits so well with the Adeptus Mechanicus “robes” theme that it would be an heresy to not to try myself with it.

One thought on “A glimpse of future Mechanicum projects

Leave a Reply

