Centurions to Obliterators Conversions

(Yes, another WIP project)

It probably is not yet clear to you, as this blog is too young, but I am a hobby butterfly. I constantly think to dozens of projects, and sometimes one of them becomes a vision, a driving idea so strong that I stop to work on whatever I was doing at the moment to embark on this new quest. As a result, I have a lot of unfinished projects scattered through my cabinets, miniature cases and hobby table. Will I ever finish them? Who knows. Probably not, if I keep on buying new miniatures that I like and amassing new projects, probably. These Obliterators conversions, however, were not abandoned due to a new project stealing all my attention from them. They are still unfinished because I seem unable to find the right idea to complete them.

I never added a Obliterator to my Betrayers of Pain Renegade Chapter, even though they are almost universally regarded as some of the most powerful models in the Codex (and I can clearly see why). The reason is simple: I do not like their original models. Never did. So I considered various options to replace them, but none really pleased me. I have seen a lot of wonderful conversions based on Chaos Terminators, but those were not bulky enough. Obliterators are bigger than Terminators, and my skills were not enough to do such conversions. Then the Centurions were released. To me, they looked a bit out-of-place in a Space Marines army, but their potential was clear. Basically, they are a loyalist version of the Obliterators, so it is not a crazy idea to turn them to Chaos. Especially as my Chapter betrayed the Imperium only recently, and a touch of imperial design here and there really fits their background.

So I surfed the net to see how other hobbyists with the same idea (it went without saying that there were) did tackle the problem and found two exceptional sources of inspiration on the Bolter and Chainsword forums, Krautscientist and Biohazard. So, having now get a sense of what could be done and what kind of results one could expect, I started to dig into my bits box and looking for suitable components. And I managed to get there:

Obliterator 1Obliterator 2Obliterator 3

While Biohazard’s and Kreautscientist’s models basically kept the Centurions’ hands, I wanted to integrate the weapons directly in their arms, as a nod to the original Obliterators. There’s a bit of everything in there: a loyalist assault cannon, weapons from the Chaos Raptors and Terminators sets, a couple of plasma pistols from the old (early ’90-ies, I think) Chaos Weapons sprue and even a Heldrake’s leg (the left-hand cannon on the third model).

The main problem of using the Centurions for this conversion is that they have too many big, flat and empty surfaces. They shout “Hey, I am a loyalist!” when you look at them, and to mask this effect you need a lot of components to add or a lot of greenstuff. Both is better.

Obliterator 1Obliterator 2Obliterator 3

I tried to sculpt flames and daemonic faces (and flames which look like daemonic faces) here and there, but that was not enough. I should have probably covered all their legs with them, but then the risk was that they would have looked too “heavy” and “boring”. Unless I can come up with some different, lighter, design to use, I do not think I will go that way. I will probably try sculpting some trims, as Darth Mustard suggested on Bolter and Chainsword. Well, I will try it someday, as now I am too focused on the Adeptus Mechanicus to think to anything else.

I will also need to find a way to make their “forearms” more interesting, by adding some skull, blade, spike or icon. I could probably break their flatness with some freehand, but then, again, they would not be baroque enough – there would not be enough Chaos on them.

Obliterator 1 - rearObliterator 2 - rearObliterator 3 - rearThe icon on their backs is a nod to the Adeptus Mechanicus symbol on the loyalists’ equipments, but, as you can see, the corrupting influence of Chaos is clearly evident.

I hope you liked them, and maybe some of you could come up with some advice for them that is interesting enough to relight my devotion to the Chaos gods and lead me to complete these guys?

6 thoughts on “Centurions to Obliterators Conversions

Leave a Reply

