Back to the field!

Hello, everyone! I am finally back for an update. I have been silent for more than six months, and for almost all of this time I was away from the hobby. The last time I posted anything on this blog the summer had not yet struck with all his might – then the hottest season I can remember began. It was so hot that, even during the night, the paints would dry on the palette as soon as I thinned them, so all my projects suffered a severe setback. I think this could be the main reason why the hobby is not so popular in the southern parts of Europe while being extremely widespread in the northern Countries.

When the temperature reverted to acceptable levels, the much-awaited Metal Gear Solid V – The Phantom Pain was released, and most of my sporadic free time was absorbed by it . Now, having finally completed its main story, and with the complicity of the flu that prevented me going to work for a couple of days, I finally found the time to return to my miniatures. And this is going to be a big post!

Let’s start small however, with the three Thallx I showed in one of my first posts here. I had planned for a long time to come back to them to add some black to their shoulder and ankle guards, to have their colour scheme match that of my first Castellax. I think they really look much better now. That black break the monotony of the yellow livery and nicely frames their heads, I think.

DSCN1218

Then there is the last project I just started: a quartet of Servitors (from Games Workshop’s Techmarine resin kit) to accompany  my Techpriests. I do not know if I am ever going to field them, but my collection can’t do without them: I really liked them, when I was ten and I had just started to discover the galaxy of Warhammer 40,000 (man, these models are more than 20 years old…).

Nothing major for now: just an Averland Sunset basecoat and a Seraphim Sepia wash.

A quartet of Servitors

Obviously, I only started them after finishing one of the projects that sat on my workbench for months: my first squad of Skitarii Rangers! Finally I managed to finish them! I am so proud right now! They look exactly as I envisioned them at the beginning.

And what about the Imperial Knight? There is some progress here too:

It looks impressing, didn’t it? I cant wait to see it completed. It will be a long time, tough. Painting all these flat surfaces is slightly boring, and my colour scheme is not so fast to apply (there are many steps to do, and in many of them you have to wait for the colour to dry). That’s why I started painting those Servitors  and undercoated a plastic Magos from the Cult Mechanicus range (a bit of red after so much yellow!!!).

2 thoughts on “Back to the field!

Leave a Reply

