Drasta, the Watcher

Drasta, the Watcher. Knight Errant attached to the Legio Fureans of Incaladion and often tasked with scouting missions, to relay vital intel from the battlefield and to support the vanguard units of the Aksita with its firepower. My first Imperial Knight is complete!

Detail of the head

Yes, he’s looking at you…

It has been a long road. It took me almost a year to get from here to the final result, but it was well worth the effort.

Just look at how imposing and menacing it is.

 

I have never been a fan of the decals, generally preferring hand-painted or sculpted details, but for this project I knew I needed them. The logos of the Legio Fureans and of Incaladion are too complex for most people’s skills. In the beginning I thought that Forge World would never bother with releasing decals for such a minor house (compared to much more famous titan legions), so I asked Carlson793 from the Bolter and Chainsword community help in designing custom decals based on that design (they are magnificent!).

Before I could print them, however, Forge World released their transfer sheet for the Legio Fureans titans, and I could not help but buy them. Their quality is stunning! I did not even need to use Micro Set and Micro Sol to apply them, I just applied a layer of ‘Ardcoat to give them a flat surface to adhere to, positioned them with water and then applied a couple of layers of Lahmian Medium to seal them and re-lend a matte finish to those areas. Even by looking carefully at them against the light, it is almost impossible to discern the decal’s film.

When it came to paint Drasta’s exhausts and thermal cannon, I took inspiration from the egregious technique that Jeff Tibbets used on its rightly renowned Queen Bee. As my painting style is overall less realistic than his, I chose to keep the colours of my heat stains more saturated.

I tried to keep a hint of realism just in the positioning of the stains in these areas. Again, I had this idea while reading another article Jeff Tibbet’s blog, where he pointed out that, in the real world, the heat staining effect begins from the hottest part of the device. While I am sure that the hottest part of the exhaust is the one nearer to the engine, the same thing cannot be said for the thermal cannon. It is a weapon that literally fires heat rays capable of melt metal in a matter of seconds: if the hottest part is towards its middle, why does it not melt itself every time it fires? Sure, the weapon might use magnetic fields, but in the real worlds we

While I am sure that the hottest part of the exhaust is the one nearer to the engine, the same thing cannot be said for the thermal cannon. It is a weapon that literally fires heat rays capable of melt metal in a matter of seconds: if the hottest part is towards its middle, why does it not melt itself every time it fires? Sure, magnetic fields could come to mind, but in the real worlds we use them for plasma confinement, and in Warhammer 40,000 a melta weapon is completely different from a plasma weapon. So, my explanation is that the submolecular fuel is ignited only when outside of the nozzle.

Last, but not least, here is a side shot of the massive Reaper Chainsword. Nothing particularly impressive to see here, but I am pretty satisfied of the effect I achieved on the liquid in the two small tanks.

Detail of the Reaper chainsword

The Imperial Knight is a great kit. It is versatile, it is easy to assemble and, even if it takes a lot of time to paint it, the final results are incredibly satisfying. I already have a Knight Paladin that champs at the bit to join Drasta (I have bought them together), but I do not think it will leave its box soon… now I need a bit of rest with kits that are easier to paint.

And, moreover, a box of Deathwatch: Overkill is already headed to my house…

3 thoughts on “Drasta, the Watcher

  1. Ruins of Arotha says:

    Incredible paint job there man, and lucky with the transfers. They look great. You’ve got a very nice bold palette there. I for one particularly like the heat staining on the thermal cannon, little decals like that make all the difference. Same with the liquid on the chainsword. Very well done

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the shout-out! Fair point on the heat-staining. As I pointed out in the post, I think it’s really up to us to decide, based on our understanding of the model. Either way, I love the vibrant color! This turned out very nicely, overall.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

